WTFM 2016

Coming July 10-16, 2016 Hattiloo Theatre
37 Cooper Street
Memphis, TN 38104

Gyneka Award Nominations

Nominations are now open for the 2016 Gyneka Award Honorees. To nominate, click here.

Nominations will be closed December 31, 2015. The 2016 Gyneka Award Honorees will be announced on World Theatre Day in March 2016.


Karen Moore
Ruby O'Gray


Executive Producer
Karen Moore

Ruby O'Gray

Sherronda Johnson

Olivia Johnson

Associate Producer
Tawana French

Festival Schedule

To download and view the 2014 WTFM Festival Schedule please click here. To purchase festival tickets and passes, click on the "pink" ticket above.

Gyneka Awards

The Gyneka Award is an award honoring women in theatre.

The word “Gyneka” is Greek for woman.  Greek women were denied the right to perform in theatre and this award represents strong women who have broken barriers and never allowed their God ordained talent to be denied.  Women from the Greater Memphis area were nominated for the Gyneka Award by the theatre community and voted upon by volunteers on the WTFM Gyneka committee.  On occasion, a man is recognized for his support of women in theatre.

The Gyneka Award honorees for 2014 were:

                         (Pictures shown in alphabetical order by last name)

Names of Honorees: Patricia Bogan, Julia "Cookie" Ewing, Pat Halloran, Debbie Litch, Naomi Moody, Dorothy Gunther Pugh and Celeste Bedford Walker.

The awards were presented during the WTFM Gyneka Awards Gala Performance at The Circuit Playhouse on Thursday, August 7, 2014 at 7:00 PM.

To view the 2012 Gyneka Awards Program please click here.